Return to

AGCSA Water Management

Water Restrictions

Water Restrictions

Water restrictions for most Australians has become a way of life, especially in recent years, given the effects of rapid climate change. Australia is acknowledged as the driest inhabited continent with our weather patterns being highly variable, across all states and regions as well as from year to year.

Currently many regions and cities of Australia are experiencing water restrictions in response to chronic drought. How restrictions are implemented varies depending on what state/region you live in.

The different classification levels or 'stages' of water restrictions can vary widely and are generally set by the state and territory Governments, whilst the metropolitan and regional water authorities are responsible for implementing water restrictions within their jurisdiction. 

Exemptions and Variations

It is worth checking with your local water authority to verify if your club qualifies for a water restriction exemption or variation. The procedure you will need to follow to gain an exemption/variation varies depending on which water authority you are dealing with, however most authorities require applications to be submitted in writing accompanied by an irrigation management plan outlining how your club can achieve greater water savings.

Golf course superintendents and golf clubs need to closely monitor the level of restrictions by keeping in contact with their local water authority and strictly observing any water restrictions which apply to their district.

Please select the state you reside in to check the water restrictions that apply in your region.


Queensland Water Commission
Queensland Urban Utilities
Allonnex Water
Unity Water


    Metropolitan Zones
        NSW Government Website
        Sydney Water

    Regional Zones

Albury City Council
Armidale Dumaresq Council
Ashfield Municipal Council
Auburn Council
Ballina Shire Council
Ashfield Municipal Council
Balranald Shire Council
Bankstown City Council
Bathurst Regional City Council
Bega Valley Shire Council
Bellingen Shire Council
Berrigan Shire Council
Blacktown City Council
Bland Shire Council
Blayney Shire Council
Blue Mountains City Council
Bogan Shire Council
Bombala Council
Boorowa Council
Botany Bay City Council
Burke Shire Council
Brewarrina Shire Council
Broken Hill City Council
Burwood Council
Byron Shire Council
Cabonne Shire Council
Camden Council
Campbelltown City Council
Canada Bay Council
Canterbury City Council
Carrathool Shire Council
Central Darling Shire Council
Central Tablelands Council
Central Tablelands Water
Cessnock City Council
Central Tablelands County Council
Clarence Valley Council
Cobar Shire Council
Coffs Harbour City Council
Conargo Shire Council
Coolamon Shire Council
Cooma - Monaro Shire Council
Coonamble Shire Council
Cootamundra Shire Council
Corowa Shire Council
Cowra Shire Council
Deniliquin Council
Dubbo City Council
Dungog Shire Council
Eurobodalla Shire Council
Fairfield City Council
Forbes Shire Council
Gilgandra Shire Council
Glenn Innes Municipal Council
Gloucester Shire Council
Goldenfields Water County Council
Goulburn Mulwaree Council
Great Lakes Council
Greater Taree City Council
Greater Hume Shire Council
Greater Queanbeyan City Council
Griffith City Council
Gundagai Shire Council
Gunnedah Shire Council
Guyra Shire Council
Gwydir Shire Council
Harden Shire Council
Hawkesbury City Council
Hay Shire Council
Holroyd City Council
Hornsby Shire Council
Hunter Water
Hunter's Hill Council
Hurstville City Council
Inverell Shire Council
Jerilderie Shire Council
Junee Shire Council
Kempsey Shire Council
Kiama Municipal Council
Kogarah City Council
Ku-ring-gai Council
Kyogle Council
Lachlan Shire Council
Lake Macquarie City Council
Lane Cove Municipal Council
Leeton Shire Council
Leichhardt Municipal Council
Lismore City Council
Lithgow City Council
Liverpool City Council
Liverpool Plains Shire Council
Lockhart Shire Council
Maitland City Council
Manly Council
Marrickville Council
Mid-Western Regional Council
Moree Plains Shire Council
Mid Coast County Council
Mosman Municipal Council
Murray Shire Council
Murrumbidgee Shire Council
Muswellbrook Shire Council
Nambucca Shire Council
Narrabri Shire Council
Narrandera Shire Council
Narromine Shire Council
Newcastle City Council
North Sydney Council
Oberon Council
Orange City Council
Palerang Council
Parkes Shire Council
Parramatta City Council
Penrith City Council
Pittwater Council
Port Macquarie Hastings Council
Port Stephens Council
Randwick City Council
Richmond Valley Council
Riverina Water County Council
Rockdale City Council
Ryde City Council
Shellharbour City Council
Shoalhaven City Council
Singleton Council
Snowy River Shire Council
Strathfield Municipal Council
Sutherland Shire Council
Sydney City Council
Tamworth City Council
Temora Shire Council
Tenterfield Shire Council
The Hills Shire Council
Tumbarumba Shire Council
Tumut Shire Council
Tweed Shire Council
Upper Hunter Shire Council
Upper Lachlan Council
Uralla Shire Council
Urana Shire Council
Wagga Wagga City Council
Wakool Shire Council
Walcha Council
Walgett Shire Council
Warren Shire Council
Warringah Council
Warrumbungle Shire Council
Waverley Council
Weddin Shire Council
Wellington Council
Wentworth Shire Council
Willoughby City Council
Wingecarribee Shire Council
Wollondilly Shire Council
Wollongong City Council
Woollahra Municipal Council
Wyong Shire Council
Yass Shire Council
Young Shire Council


        ACTEW's Water Conservation Office


     Metropolitan Zones 
        Melbourne Water
        South East Water
        City West Water
        Yarra Valley Water

    Regional Zones 
       Barwon Water
       Coliban Water 
       Gippsland Water
       Goulburn Valley Water
       Wannon Water
       Westernport Water
       Central Highlands Water
       East Gippsland Water
       North East Water
       South Gippsland Water
       Western Water
       Goulburn-Murray Water
       Lower Murray Water
       Southern Rural Water
       GWM Water


        Southern Water
        Esk Water


South Australia
        SA Water


Western Australia
        Water Corporation